Getting there

Well, it seems I have the hardware and software for the new server up and running for the IFPoI site.  It’s not perfect, but I’m working with what I have:  an older PC with only 1.3 MB RAM and running W2K.  OTOH, I’ve got a 200 GB HD exclusively for the blog site.  So, I think it’s going to work out well.

Right now I have the basic Apache, PHP, MYSQL, and WordPress server in place.  Bare bones, I’m writing this as I take a break from setting up all that.  First, I need to change the theme in WordPress to one more appropriate for a photo site.  So, I got research to do for that.  Then I’m going to have to move the existing site, made with a different setup entirely, into this WordPress setup.  Or I might decide to use something other than WordPress.  I’d go with Linux, but for now this is also my ham radio machine, so I’m not yet ready to make that big a switch…too many ham radio apps I’d have to find Linux variants for, else set up a VM and I think that would impact the IFPoI website’s performance too much.

I had 1 GB RAM from another machine that I’d just put 4 GB RAM into and hoped to use that 1 GB for this machine.  Unfortunately, it’s not the same kind of card, so it won’t plug into the RAM slots on the older machine.  That really sucks but hopefully I can trade with someone and get the same amount of additional RAM for this older PC in return.

Naturally, it’s not yet online to the world, and for now the original IFPoI website is still up and running.  I’m really looking forward to getting this new server into its place, I think it’ll be way easier for us to use and to add stuff to.

I’m going to try for the end of the month for getting it online.  We’ll see if I actually make that goal.

Leave a Reply

