Hunting the Perseids

I’m wearily excited about tonight’s outing.  I’m heading out into the Owyhees again, up above Wild Horse Basin on a photo shoot.

I checked at 3:30 this morning, but from my deck in town I’m not sure whether what I saw were Perseids or “Perseids”.  Some nights I can just barely make out the Milky Way from my deck at that time of the night, when cars are no longer going by and the only light in sight is blocked by one of my trees.  Last night, I don’t know.  Maybe I was just too tired, and hallucinated because I wanted to see them, but even if they really were faint Perseids I’m discounting them.  I just don’t know.

But tonight I’ll find out.  Tonight is the second in the peak for the Perseids and I’m going to be in a suitably dark location.  I’ve got several photography experiments I want to do but I don’t know if I’ll manage to get them all done.  I’m also going to be teaching someone astrophotography basics.  I’ll be surprised if I get home before 3 am tomorrow.

With any luck, I’ll be able to grab a brief nap after I get up there, or at least catnap.  The planets should be good for photos again, too:  Venus, Mars, Saturn, Jupiter for sure, not so sure about Mercury.  A few constellations.  The Milky Way.  The young moon with the 400mm and yeah, on a tripod with a cable release!!!  Plenty of targets!

Leave a Reply

