Greyshirt

This came to mind today in the shower. I do a lot of my best thinking in the water: shower, on the boat, in the pool, on the banks…for some reason I seem to have an affinity for water when it comes to thinking. I’d rather spend time on a boat, too, than pretty much anything else recreational.

Anyway…I got to thinking about a short story that wound up being a fully fleshed out scene. It’s too short to post in the short story area so I thought I’d just post it here for your enjoyment. I based it on discussing something I found fascinating with a friend at work.

You’ll be able to figure out the influences, I’m sure. If not, go ask the nearest friendly geek.

Perhaps not my best writing but not my worst either.  For better or worse, without beta readers and just my own best editing here it is!

Greyshirt

When it came, the invite to join the away party was unexpected and thrilling. As far as he was concerned, it was a mark of his growing value to his department. He might be the junior member of the team, but he was definitely proving his worth lately. His latest monthly SFPR evals reflected that.

He quickly made his way to the cabin he shared with another junior crewman. Not having a clean tunic, he rapidly punched the buttons of his closet and grabbed the new tunic when it arrived. Throwing it on, he grabbed his gear and made his way to the transporter room.

Embarrassment flooded him when he saw everyone else was waiting for him but was quickly replaced by confidence. As soon as he showed up, a slight nervousness had disappeared and everyone was greeting him, patting him on the back and making him feel welcome. He’d never known a friendlier group. Even the officers on the team were smiling at him, obviously glad he was there.

Standing on the circle as Engineering set the controls, he asked the guy next to him, “Are all away teams this friendly?”

“Huh? Oh, no. We’re just happy to see a red shirt join our team.”

The last thing he said before the transporter energized was, “Oh, shit! Red? Damn this colorblindness!”

 

Leave a Reply

