That confounding story

Well, I got my feedback from the pre-Alpha reader.  On one hand, I’d like to say it’s not pretty.  On the other hand, it’s actually pretty good.  It’s all a matter of perspective.

The reviewer told me that this short story is good, works, flows, but that the ending was as if I ran out of steam and just decided to drop it.  That last is pretty much expected, but I wasn’t expecting that I’d also be told to go fix the ending because the story was worth saving.  Naturally, I asked some more questions and garnered more information.

Up to a certain point (I don’t want to give anything away yet), the interest is there.  The problem is that the way I end it left the reader wanting more, but not in a good way.  The request was for more information about the persons involved, a better resolution to the issues raised, and a proper ending to the story rather than just “meh, here, it’s over.”  Other than that, the story’s fine and worthy of being part of the Pa’adhe saga.

So, I can’t toss it.

I’m going to have to work on it and try to fix that last 1/8 of the story.  I have some nebulous idea what I might do to address the pre-Alpha reader’s comments but the interesting part will be getting it to work.  I think I’m going to have to send the Captain after her.  (How’s that for a teaser?)

Fortunately, I have some 3,000 words left to play in.

I’m going to try and have this done by the end of the month.  That leaves me 14 days with the goal of posting the story by the middle of February.  For a short story, this is sure taking a long time, my longest to date.

I might toss in another short story, unrelated to Pa’adhe, in the next few days.  I have to decide if I want to submit it or just publish it on my blog.  It’s really, really short, has the potential to be expanded with more details, but I think it also works well as short as it is.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

