Writing Paadhe Short Stories

Serendipity.

The lifeline of this writer, apparently.

As I was falling asleep last night, I started dreaming about a certain event happening. Strictly fantasy, set in our current world. In the morning, in the shower I elaborated on it and took it further along. I continued that dreaming during the commute to work and got it into a dead end.

Oh, I can figure out a way out of that dead end, but it wasn’t as peaceful and elegant any more. I’ve not yet tossed it aside as done or anything, I think I want to play with it some more. Not the entire scenario, but rather the central event.

More to the point, though, is that it triggered a new Pa’adhe story for me to start writing. I’d already had some notes for a potential story, and this just meshes with it so well that I’m switching certain elements over from the daydream into the Pa’adhe story. I’m also doing research and happily have access to one of the main props so that I can properly incorporate it into the story. I have no idea what’s going to happen, as you know is usual for my writing at this point. I know what the Captain has to do and how he’s getting into the situation, but no idea how the whole thing will pan out.

Yep, that’s serendipity. I’d been a little concerned that I hadn’t actually come up with a new Pa’adhe story yet when this all happened. Now I have my story and am developing it. So far I just have a few notes and ideas and best of all no idea how it’s all going to fit together yet.

At least that’s some solace. Since September I’ve been eagerly waiting for the C/2011 L4 PANSTARRS comet to rise into our skies. It’s done that, and there was a really awesome photo op yesterday, with the comet near the thin sliver of a crescent moon. Awesome, right? I have no idea. We’ve had nothing but clouds for over a week now.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had decent astrophotography conditions. At most I’ve been able to look up and see the stars, but those times when the sky has been good, I’ve been unable to do much more than just “snapshots”. I need to get up to a certain overlook, one of two, and take photos for my time lapse class I’ll be teaching in May. Fortunately, I’ve still got time and a backup sequence of pictures if necessary.

Well, there’s some cracks in the sky cover so I’m going to take a look and see if any of the holes line up with the comet.

Nope.

Every break in the clouds is too high up. The big clearing is in the southwest. It’s towards the end of the twilight zone right now and I can’t see the moon, either. Wait! I just saw the sliver of the moon between two clouds for maybe 8 seconds.

Maybe tomorrow.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

